Skip to content
Home » Arkansas Dietetics Licensing Board & Staff

Arkansas Dietetics Licensing Board & Staff

The members of the Board are appointed by the Governor, with the consent of the Senate and serve staggered terms of five (5) years each beginning January 15 of odd-numbered years. The dietetic professional members are selected from a list of ten (10) names submitted to the Governor by the Board of Directors of the Arkansas Academy of Dietetics and Nutrition. Each of these Licensed Dietitian Board members have been practicing dietitians for at least five (5) years preceding their appointment.


Duties of the Board include the licensure and regulation of individuals qualified to engage in the practice of dietetics and other nutrition care services.

At least two (2) regular meetings of the Board are held each calendar year, and at the first regular meeting every two (2) years, the Board elects a chairperson and vice-chairperson. Special called meetings may be held at the discretion of the chairperson or at the written request of any three (3) members of the Board. All regular meetings of the Board are open to the public. Reasonable notice of all meetings are given in the manner prescribed by the laws of this State.

A quorum of the Board consists of three (3) members. A secretary of the Board is elected by the Board and holds office at the pleasure of the Board.